Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Catherine tutors in Lafayette, LA

Catherine C.

Private tutor in Lafayette, LA

Education

A.A. Liberal Arts, 2004. B.S. Organismal Biology, Montana State University, 2007. M.S. Zoology, Washington State University, 2011. PhD candidate, Evolutionay and Ecological Biology, University of Louisiana, Lafayette, expected graduation 2018.

Experience

-4 years teaching experience in Anatomy and Physiology, General Physiology, and Comparative Vertebrate Anatomy at Washington State University (2007-2011) -2 years teaching experience in Anatomy and Physiology at University of Louisiana, Lafayette (2015-2017) -2 co-authored articles published in peer-reviewed scientific journals -Louisiana State Board of Regents Fellowship recipient (2011-2015) -National Science Foundation grant to study abroad in Singapore (2016)

Availability

Any day after 9AM

Can Meet

Up to 20 minutes away for no additional charge, Up to 1 hour away for a flat fee

Hobbies

I'm primarily a marine biologist now, but I got my start studying agriculture at Montana State University (Equine Science to be precise!). I still love horses, but somehow I got more interested in fossils, evolution and marine systems along the way. Now my research focuses on the evolutionary relationships among hermit crab species in the Gulf of Mexico. I just discovered two new species by comparing the DNA sequences of dozens of specimens from the Gulf of Mexico and Caribbean. Crazy, right? That's what I love about science. Even with all our modern technology and discoveries there's still so much out there we don't know yet! I have a lot of interests outside of my work, and when I'm not at the lab, I like to travel (especially to the beach!). I also love to sew. I learned from my mother, and so it brings back lots of good memories. Playing board games with my friends is also a favorite pass time, because it keeps my mind sharp even when I'm just relaxing.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!